10 Different Sea Dogs Recognized in 17th Annual Awards Banquet

Last night, the Sea Dogs gathered for their 17th annual awards banquet at the Imperial Theatre. The first in-person awards banquet in two years, ten different players were recognized for their accomplishments on and off the ice. 

William Dufour took home the Pepsi Top Scorer Award, the Mike Thomas Players’ Choice MVP Award, voted on by his teammates, and the final award of the night, the Bell Aliant MVP Award. He also received a plaque to recognize his record breaking season, setting a new Sea Dogs record for most goals in a season, passing Danick Gauthier with 48 goals, and going on to now have 53 with three regular season games remaining. 

Philippe Daoust, who joined the team at the trade deadline, was awarded the Alpine 3 Stars Award, which recognizes the player with the most three stars nominations in games played. 

The Make-A-Wish Fan’s Choice Award, as chosen by you, the fans, was given to longtime Sea Dog Jérémie Poirier. 

Fellow veteran Sea Dog and member of the 2018 QMJHL Draft class Josh Lawrence was named the Tim Hortons’ Most Improved Player for his impressive and record breaking season in the Port City. He also received a plaque for his record of most assists in a single season, passing Jonathan Huberdeau. He now sits at 65 assists on the season. 

The Irving Oil Team Player Award, given to the player that shows composure and determination, while maintaining a high level of sportsmanship, was awarded to Riley Bezeau. 

Saint John born Nick Blagden was awarded the TD Community Service Award for his commitment to ending the stigma surrounding mental health, through talks with local schools and teams.

In a tight category, captain Vincent Sévigny took the title of Top Defenseman with the Sunlife Financial Top Defenseman Award. 

For balancing schoolwork with a record breaking season on the ice, William Villeneuve was named the Saint John Airport Academic Player.

One of the relatively new awards at the banquet, the Deloitte Top Defensive Forward, given to players who demonstrated defensive prowess, playing tough minutes against top opponents, was awarded to Raivis Kristians Ansons. 

Netminder Thomas Couture was named Rookie of the Year for his impressive 16 wins in 20 games, putting up a .922 save percentage in those appearances. 

A full list of the winners and nominees can be found below, and the full ceremony can be watched on the Sea Dogs YouTube HERE

Award Winner Nominees
Pepsi Top Scorer William Dufour
Bell Aliant MVP William Dufour Philippe Daoust, Vincent Sévigny, Josh Lawrence
Sun Life Financial Top Defenseman Award Vincent Sévigny William Villeneuve, Jérémie Poirier, Charlie DesRoches, Yan Kuznetsov
Make-A-Wish Fan’s Choice Award Jérémie Poirier
Rookie of the Year Thomas Couture Yan Kuznetsov, Jacob Chantler, Vincent Despont
Deloitte Top Defensive Forward Raivis Kristians Ansons Philippe Daoust, Cam MacDonald
Tim Hortons Most Improved Player Josh Lawrence Nathan Drapeau, Riley Bezeau
Saint John Airport Academic Player Award William Villeneuve Nathan Drapeau, Peter Reynolds, Yan Kuznetsov
Irving Oil Team Player Award Riley Bezeau Charlie DesRoches, Marshall Lessard, Olivier Picard
TD Community Service Award Nick Blagden William Villeneuve, Connor Trenholm
Mike Thomas Players’ Choice MVP William Dufour
Alpine 3 Stars Award Philippe Daoust
More News
Become a Sea Dogs Billet!
3 days ago
6 days ago
Sea Dogs Invite Four Players to Training Camp
2 weeks ago
3 weeks ago
2022-23 Season Ticket Now on Sale!
3 weeks ago
Sea Dogs Invite Five Players to Training Camp
4 weeks ago