In response to the suspension of the season by the QMJHL, the Sea Dogs office will be closed until further notice. Please see the below announcement re: existing tickets and flex vouchers. Please hold on to any unused tickets. For questions/information please contact We thank you for your patience and understanding as we continue to work through this.

Nominees revealed for the 2020 CIBC Marcel-Robert Trophy



Boucherville, QC — The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League today announced the 18 candidates who will compete for the CIBC Marcel-Robert Trophy, an honour awarded annually to the QMJHL’s Scholastic Player of the Year. The winner is the player who best combines on-ice performance with academic success. The award will be presented at the Golden Puck Awards Gala on April 8 in Brossard, Quebec.

Each player selected by his team receives a $400 scholarship. Thereafter, the three finalists will receive an additional $600 bursary and the winner will be awarded a $1,500 scholarship in addition to the Marcel-Robert Trophy. Finally, the winner will automatically receive the Guy Lafleur Award of Excellence from the Montreal Canadiens.

“Once again this year, the teams put a lot of effort into submitting excellent briefs of their candidate and choosing the three finalists will be a difficult task for the selection committee,” said Natacha Llorens, Director of Player Services. “In this year dedicated to education, the league has made considerable efforts to promote and improve both its scholastic program and the support offered by our organizations and partners. Our main objective is to ensure the academic success of our student-athletes. This year’s candidates have clearly shown that it is possible to perform well academically while going through a demanding hockey schedule. I take this opportunity to congratulate all of them.”

The three finalists will be interviewed by an independent selection committee in order to evaluate their academic and athletic accomplishments. In addition, critical thinking skills and knowledge of current events will be tested. The committee will determine the award winner.

The selection committee is composed of:

Sébastien Fyfe – President of the Marcel-Robert committee and General Manager of Alliance Sport-Études and Fondation Sport-Études
Nicolas Therrien – Former Marcel-Robert Trophy award winner
Sébastien Goulet – Play-by-play commentator and columnist, TVA Sports
Marie-Ève Sénécal –
Human Resources Manager, Fenplast
Marc-Étienne Hubert – Head Coach, UQTR University


List of team candidates:

Titan, Acadie-Bathurst — Mathieu Desgagnés
Drakkar, Baie-Comeau — Gabriel Proulx
Armada, Blainville-Boisbriand — Simon Lavigne
Screaming Eagles, Cape Breton — Derek Gentile
Islanders, Charlottetown — Matthew Welsh
Saguenéens, Chicoutimi – Rafaël Harvey-Pinard
Voltigeurs, Drummondville — Isiah Campbell
Olympiques, Gatineau — Manix Landry
Mooseheads, Halifax — Justin Barron
Wildcats, Moncton — Christian Huntley
Remparts, Québec — James Malatesta
Océanic, Rimouski — Nathan Ouellet
Huskies, Rouyn-Noranda — Mathieu Gagnon
Sea Dogs, Saint John — Alex Drover
Cataractes, Shawinigan — Gabriel Denis
Phoenix, Sherbrooke — Félix Robert
Foreurs, Val-d’Or — Jacob Gaucher
Tigres, Victoriaville — Jérôme Gravel

More News
3 days ago
Sea Dogs Foundation Announces Retirement of Executive Director Tom Donovan
4 days ago
CHL announces Independent Review Panel
7 days ago
Sea Dogs Carruthers & Hughes Invited to Hockey Canada's Virtual National Under-17 Development Camp
1 week ago
Sea Dogs name Greg Gilbert Head Coach
2 weeks ago
Joshua Roy & Peter Reynolds among 18 QMJHLers invited to Hockey Canada's Summer U-18 Selection Camp
3 weeks ago