Ryan Francis Named Bell Aliant MVP | Sea Dogs Year End Awards 2020-21

Forward Ryan Francis has been named the Bell Aliant MVP as part of the Saint John Sea Dogs Year End Awards. He was joined in the category by fellow nominees Zachary Emond and William Villeneuve.

Francis, who also received the Pepsi Top Scorer Award and the Mike Thomas Player’s Choice MVP Award, joined the Sea Dogs for the second half of the season after being acquired from the Cape Breton Eagles during the Christmas trade period. In 17 games with the Sea Dogs Francis registered 10 goals and 17 assists to accompany six goals and 15 assists during 15 games with the Eagles.

From Beaver Bank, NS Francis made a memorable debut with the Sea Dogs on March 9th when he scored four goals in Saint John’s first game in over four months. He joins Jonathan Huberdeau, Nathan Noel and Bokondji Imama as the only Sea Dogs to ever score four goals in a game.

The Calgary Flames prospect continued to produce in the playoffs scoring four goals and adding six assists in six games, finishing first in team scoring.

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”” title=”YouTube video player” frameborder=”0″ allow=”accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture” allowfullscreen></iframe>

Awards Nominees & Winners

Award Winner Nominee Nominee Nominee
Bell Aliant MVP Award Ryan Francis Zachary Emond William Villeneuve
Sun Life Financial Brad Stanley Financial Services Ltd. Top Defenseman Award William Villeneuve Charlie DesRoches Christopher Inniss Jérémie Poirier
Children’s Wish Foundation Fan Choice Award Nicholas Girouard
Grant Thornton Rookie of the Year Award Peter Reynolds Nathan Drapeau Cam MacDonald
Deloitte Top Defensive Forward Award Cam MacDonald Nicholas Girouard Josh Lawrence
The Mike Thomas Players’ Choice MVP Award Ryan Francis
Tim Hortons Most Improved Player Award Charles Savoie Riley Bezeau Noah Patenaude
TD Community Award Kale McCallum Leighton Carruthers William Villeneuve
Saint John Airport Academic Player of the Year Award Josh Lawrence Nathan Drapeau William Villeneuve
Alpine 3 Stars Award Peter Reynolds
Irving Oil Team Player Award Charlie DesRoches Zachary Emond Christopher Inniss
Pepsi Top Scorer Award Ryan Francis

Videos of all 12 awards can be viewed on YouTube. 

More News
Now Hiring: Part-Time Retail Manager
4 days ago
Pre-season Tickets Now on Sale (Aitken Centre)
6 days ago
1 week ago
Aitken Centre To Host Sea Dogs Pre-season Games
2 weeks ago
2 weeks ago
2021-22 Season Tickets Renewal Deadline & Memorial Cup Packages
4 weeks ago